Where I write for inspiration (My cottage retreat!)

A lot of people have asked me if I get up in the morning and write or if I set time aside every day to write and the answer is no, I lack that kind of discipline. But I do have a cottage near Westport that I go to most weekends in the summer and that seems to be a place where I can really focus and get down to work. I’ve had weekends out there where I’ve written 16, 000 words (that’s about 20 per cent of a book), getting up in the morning to start and writing until dark. But the nice thing about the cottage is I can stop anytime I like, go for a swim, or a kayak ride or just sit outside in the sun.

Here’s my piece of heaven:

IMG_2165

I write in the dining room, which has an amazing view. I’m around 20 feet from the water.  (I can’t get a great picture because there’s just too much light!) I look out the window at the lake when I’m gathering my thoughts.

DSCN0636

And here’s what I see:

IMG_0105 IMG_0150

IMG_0343 IMG_0344

The nice thing about the lake is that there always a few pals who drop by.

IMG_0333 (2)blue heron

All of which makes the dog VERY happy. He loves wandering around and has decided that chipmunks and ducks are fun to chase.

IMG_0156IMG_2152

And when I don’t feel like writing or lounging around, I often paint! Anyway, it’s a lovely spot to write, and I’m very lucky to have it.

rocks at buck lake scout at the lake painting of buck lake

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where I write for inspiration (My cottage retreat!)

  1. Deborah says:

    It must work for you; look how productive you are. Beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

