Criminal Minds at the Arnprior Library

I was at a great event at the Arnprior Public Library last night: it was called Criminal Minds, and featured myself and John Lawton, a British spy-thriller writer.

Arnprior has a gorgeous library — we sat in the lower level in comfortable tub chairs in front of a fireplace, chatting and answering questions. A big thanks to Karen, Nancy, and Anita and all the other organizers for introducing me to a library I’d never been to, and to the readers who braved the brisk winds to come out. A huge shout-out to some of my Ottawa fans for driving all the way out to the event (very much appreciated).

Here’s a little tip for writers. My book was a staff pick at this library and when  I saw the review online, I posted a comment, thanking the librarian who posted the review (which turned out to be Anita). It only takes a second to thank someone who has not only read your book but taken the time to promote it; it’s the least you can do.

Anita told me last night that she really appreciated it and (in an unrelated incident) has been telling everyone to read my books. Well worth the investment, don’t you think? (It’s also good manners.)

If you’ve never been to this library, next time you’re in Arnprior, check it out — it’s fantastic! I wish I lived there: I’d be all over that Mystery Section in the basement and an incredible DVD collection on the main level.

Here I am with Neil from Ottawa International Writers Festival who moderated a lively discussion: picture courtesy of @arnpriorlibrary. And thanks again to all of you for allowing me to participate in this event.

Arnprior event

This entry was posted in Events and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Criminal Minds at the Arnprior Library

  1. Regina Rolph says:

    Peggy, You graced our library and our town. Thanks so much for coming. We loved hearing the story of how you finally got published! I picked up your books earlier this week in order to “prepare” for your coming. Of course, must say, I got precious little done while gulping them down. Now I can read them again at a better pace. And they are worth a re-read. So pleased to know another will be coming out.
    Remember what I told you last night, you now have “readers,” in other genres they call them “fans,” so stopping these books may not be up to you. Some things in life are just “bigger than both of us.”

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thank you for coming to the Arnprior Public Library, Peggy! Once I read The Beggar’s Opera, I was hooked and just had to spread the word about the great new author I had found. It will be a challenge waiting for the next installment!

    Like

  3. I don’t do facebook or twitter; I don’t read blogs. I work a 17 hour day on the screenplay I was hired to write, the manuscript I have to polish for my publisher, and trying to figure how to get my books in front of the public. For some reason tonight I started reading about the passing of your dad, and I couldn’t stop reading. I felt I knew him. Each line gave me another insight and my heart melted. Thank you, Peggy, for sharing such intimate thoughts, for letting us get to know this lovely man, and for telling it in such a clear way that I could feel the farm, could see Jade in the little wagon, could “hear” your father’s voice though you never actually quoted him. What a warm way to come into stranger’s lives and leave your imprint. Thank you again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

