Six Things Not to Say to an Author

I put up a post earlier today that listed six things that people should never say to authors. One, for example, was when someone invited me to an event and then said “wow, they sure airbrush those author photos, don’t they!”

This was a very popular Twitter meme a few weeks ago and a very funny one at that. And certainly some people understood what I was trying to get at and thought the post was funny. But in my attempt to be clever, I was ungenerous. And so I have deleted that post permanently.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Six Things Not to Say to an Author

  1. MishaBurnett says:

    Grrrrr…. now I’m going to lie awake all night trying to figure out what you might have said, since I missed the original post.

    Like

  2. Jo-Anne Ward says:

    Thanks for this info Peggy! Forewarned is fore-armed! I’ll be meeting you for the first time at your book-launch in February & will remember (not to say!) every item on your list!! Look forward to seeing you!! JW

    Like

    • Peggy Blair says:

      I’m really looking forward to meeting you Jo-Anne, and not to worry. I was really commenting on the people I run into who have no interest in books (and no intention of buying mine) but ask those often awkward questions. Anyway, I took the post down – I think it came off as if I’m not grateful for my good luck, and that’s not the case at all.

      Like

Leave a Reply

