Updates!

Wow, things are busy! I fell asleep last night exhausted and slept like a log. I didn’t wake up until the cat and dog jumped on the bed and had a few minutes where I wasn’t sure exactly where I was — that’s how tired I was.

I did a downsizing seminar from noon to one with TD Canada Trust at Emerald Plaza; rushed home to take my daughter to the bus station to head back to Toronto (we had a lovely visit), and then ran off to the office for an office event.

I spent a couple of hours on the phone after that calling prospective buyers, ran some searches on MLX, stickhandled a hundred or so emails, spent a little time on Twitter, finished the outline and episode synopses for my new TV show, and then headed over to my friend Paula ‘s for a Skype event with the Crime Writers of Calgary at the Owl’s Nest bookstore which ran until around 10:30 PM our time. 

That was a lot of fun, and a big thanks to Calgary author Jayne Barnard, for setting that up and to Michael for hosting the event in his bookstore.

There are two more back-to-back downsizing seminars next week, all absolutely full (and with waiting lists). Copy edits will start next week on The King’s Indian with my brilliant copy editor Alexander Schultz, followed by a quick trip to Toronto on Sunday and back where I’ll be interviewed by Michael Enright at Word on the Street. 

Then a third seminar here in Ottawa, after which I’ll be heading off to the Kingston Writer’s Festival for a few days where I’ll be doing a panel with Robert Rotenberg before heading back to the lake to close up the cottage.

When I get back to Ottawa, it will be time to do our first live show with Rogers TV on Ottawa Experts: Real Estate.

So it’s a busy, busy time.

This week, my agent sent me a copy of the Pintail catalogue (Pintail is a Penguin imprint in the US) and it was lovely to see that The Beggar’s Opera is in the same catalogue as Yejide Kilanko’s, Daughters Who Walk This Path. It was really wonderful to see the  cover photo for the US and paperback version of TBO (which you can see on the sidebar) is also the cover of the Pintail catalogue.

Meanwhile, Pete Patterson is beavering away on images for the podcast of the serialized short story, The Angel’s Share, the prequel to TBO. We’re hoping to have things pulled together to broadcast the first episode in October. And while I can’t tell you yet, I hope to have some great news to share re. The Beggar’s Opera soon.

Stay tuned!

Update: Andrew Mahon has commented on this post and brought this to my attention: “I do a regular scan of various writing blog sites and came across this contest for mystery writers on the Writer’s Digest website (www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/guide-to-literary-agents/12th-free-dear-lucky-agent-contest-mysteries-adult-and-ya) which may be of interest to your readers. It involves sending in the first 150-200 words of an unpublished, book-length mystery. Deadline is Sept 15.”

Remember, I got started thanks to a writing contest (The Debut Dagger), so be sure to check it out. You never know. Thanks, Andrew!

This entry was posted in Getting Published, The Importance of Networking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Updates!

  1. andrew mahon says:

    Hi
    Like so many others, I have followed your literary journey from its beginnings (in the bar with Ian Rankin) to your well-deserved success. I particularly enjoy how well you have described all the facets between writing and publication (queries, agents, contracts etc). I do a regular scan of various writing blog sites and came across this contest for mystery writers on the Writer’s Digest website (www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/guide-to-literary-agents/12th-free-dear-lucky-agent-contest-mysteries-adult-and-ya) which may be of interest to your readers. It involves sending in the first 150-200 words of an unpublished, book-length mystery. Deadline is Sept 15.

    all the best,

    Andrew

    Like

Leave a Reply

