CBC Reader’s Choice/Giller Top Ten

I was happy/thrilled/excited to see that The Beggar’s Opera is one of ten titles nominated by readers across Canada in the CBC Reader’s Choice Awards. All of the nominated titles are on the Giller Eligible List this year. Thanks to all of you who took the time to explain in your nomination why you enjoyed my novel; I really appreciated your comments and your support — lovely!

The top ten books are as follows:

Above All Things (Tanis Rideout)

A Certain Grace (Binnie Brennan)

A Matter of Life and Death (or Something) Ben Stephenson

Daughters Who Walk the Path (Yejide Kilanko)

Giant  (Aga Maksimowska)

The Beggar’s Opera (Peggy Blair)

The Girl in the Box (Sheila Dalton)

The Good Doctor (Vince Agro)

The Love Monster (Missy Marston)

Triggers (Robert Sawyer)

I’m very happy to see Yejide Kilanko’s name on the list. I don’t know her but she is another Penguin Canada author, and I know that Penguin has submitted her book as well as The Beggar’s Opera for a Governor General’s Literary Award this year which is super-exciting!

Robert Sawyer is another Penguin Canada author and the winner of this year’s Aurora Prize (congratulations, Rob!).

I met Missy Marston at a book event here in Ottawa at Collected Works — she read from her creative and original work and was absolutely charming. I don’t know the other authors or their works personally,  but I do feel that I am in extremely good and talented company.

Here is the link to vote on the CBC website!

And for those of you who had problems with my link, here’s the actual URL:

http://www.cbc.ca/books/scotiabankgillerprize/2012/08/readers-choice-top-10-vote-now.html

As it was in the CBC Bookies, you can vote every day but only once, and the contest will run for two weeks.

Now, unlike last year, this year’s winner of the Giller Prize Reader’s Choice won’t automatically be on the CBC longlist unless the jury agrees but you can still cast your vote for your favourite author and I know it will mean a lot to them.

Many thanks to CBC and the Giller Prize folks for trying to draw attention to Canadian writers.

Whatever happens in this contest, I know everyone on the eligible list will be keeping an eye on September 4th announcement of the longlist for the Giller Prize — I’ll keep you posted!

This entry was posted in Book Awards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to CBC Reader’s Choice/Giller Top Ten

  1. zedex99 says:

    Peggy, the link you provide in your post is dead. Might be just me, maybe you could check it.

    Bruce

    Like

  2. Peggy Blair says:

    Hmm, that’s odd. I’ve replaced it and also put the long form URL so that you can cut and paste if need be. Thanks for letting me know!

    Like

  3. Congratulations Peggy!! I’d love to invite you to write a guest blog post about what it’s like having your book chosen to be part of this very special list. Please feel free to email me at Sarah.Lue@cbc.ca

    -Sarah from CBC/Radio-Canada

    Like

  4. Congrats, Peggy! Such awesome news!

    Like

Leave a Reply

