What Goodreads readers think of The Beggar’s Opera!

The reviews on Goodreads have been  terrific and I really value them because they come from readers. Thanks to all of you who have taken the time to post up a rating and/or a review. Here’s a sample!

“Real, captivating and ultimately moving, The Beggar’s Opera by Peggy Blair is a significant addition to the murder mystery genre. It’s a poignant and brutally honest story that paints a truly harrowing picture of poverty, abuse, corruption and abominable living conditions in Hemingway’s Havana. It’s dark, disturbing, thought-provoking, and heart-poundingly thrilling.”

 “I really liked this book! I used to be married to a Cuban, I was in Cuba many times and I felt like the book depicted the life in Cuba quite accurately. I finished The Beggar’s Opera in 2 days (I actually was reading another book at that time and I wanted to just take a peek to see what this book was about. ) I could not stop reading it and had to finish it before I went back to my other book.”

 “Talented lawyer turned author Peggy Blair places herself in the forefront of crime fiction with this stellar entry, which came close to snagging the Debut Dagger. Her characters move with the surety of canny locals or the naiveté of a visitor. The scenes shift seamlessly while maintaining maximum suspense. Whether strolling the crumbling streets of one of the world’s most enigmatical cities or moving into the dangerous countryside, the way is smooth and sure.”

 “Peggy Blair manages to weave together the complications of existing in the last outpost of communism with a terrifically engaging murder mystery that is impossible to put down.”

 “Blair has conceived an intricate, multi layered plot that kept me guessing until the very end. I was captivated by both the main story, and the players and their lives. I’m eager to read the second in this series.”

 “Tightly written, with a deeply layered plot that mystifies as much as it ultimately satisfies, The Beggar’s Opera reminds me of early Agatha Christie. An authentic setting, brisk prose, and a fast-paced plot make this novel a keeper on my shelf. I look forward to the next episode in the Inspector Ramirez series from debut author Peggy Blair.”

 “Not only does Peggy Blair exploit the murder mystery genre very effectively in this novel, her use of Havana, Cuba as the setting also adds a lot of interest to the story.”

 “I REALLY enjoyed this book! It was very captivating, keeping you wondering what was going to happen next and who did it.”

 “I was excited to read this book. I had a very busy schedule when I picked up this book and thought maybe I could just fit in a chapter or two whenever I got the chance. But I couldn’t put it down. I actually stayed up late on the second night because I just wanted to know ‘Who done it.’” 

“What a whirlwind of a crime novel! I was immediately caught up in the story from the beginning, with Blair’s depictions of the Havana city and way of life absolutely engaging. The writing is full of detail and research, but not over-done as to make the reader feel lost or overwhelmed with law jargon or Cuban slang. The descriptions of Havana hotspots and landmarks paint a vivid picture of the setting to this mystery.”

 ”For a debut novel, all I can say is…Wow! Police Inspector Ricardo Ramirez is searching for the person who raped and killed an eight year old boy. According to Cuban law, he only has 72 hours to solve the case. He thinks he has found the culprit – a Canadian police officer based in Ottawa. Lots of twists and turns, intricately plotted but easily followed, and lots of surprises at the end. Can’t wait for the next one.”

“This Havana, Cuba set novel takes the reader on an enjoyably twisting journey that makes you want to stay up all night to finish the book. After reading the last page I had to go back and re-read sections and chuckled to see all the clues laid out like bread crumbs on a trail that I missed.”

 “This one got my highest rating. Incredible setting – a perfectly paced story that begins in Cuba and unravels in a spellbinding drama of a man accused of killing a little boy. A brutalized orphan child and a cop trying to fix his marriage and the crumbling setting of Havana, almost a character itself.”

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Goodreads readers think of The Beggar’s Opera!

  1. swlothian says:

    Well done Peggy. All your work looks like it’s paying off with great reviews.

    Like

Leave a Reply

