Writing Software

Thanks to a Facebook friend, I am now aware of writing software that lets you organize your book in ways that are beyond my Luddite imagination. Apparently, this software does just about everything but write it. You can put your research where you can see it, link multiple documents, view different chapters at once, even convert your book to screen play format if you choose.

I haven’t tested it, but if you do, let us know how you make out, will you?

The software is called Scrivener. The only negative I can see is that it’s only for Macs.

Update: Thanks to my pal, Bill S., for pointing out that there is a beta version available for Windows, including my crappy old Windows Vista. It has some bugs but if you’re willing to try it, test it, and report back to Scrivener on any issues you discover, you can download it right now.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Writing Software

  1. April says:

    Oooh! I have Windows! Maybe I’ll try the beta when I get home tonight! Scratch that, I WILL! It sounds great! I’ll report back and let you know what I think. Thanks for the info!

    Like

  2. I’m a bit of a Luddite like you (although I am on Twitter, sort of). You almost lost me at “link multiple documents,” but I soldiered on to see that you are merely the messenger. Sounds great in its own way, but I think I’d end up doing more “linking” than writing. But then 20 years ago I couldn’t imagine using a computer for writing.

    Like

  3. edgeacuity says:

    Eek, scary writing software! I’ve been toying with the idea of giving it a go, but something’s holding me back…there’s something just really satisfying about using nothing but a simple word processor and knowing exactly what’s going on. Would be interested to hear how you find it if you do give it a go!

    Like

  4. Vicki says:

    Thanks, Peggy. A Mac user I know has been singing Scrivener’s praises for a long time. Off to check out the beta PC version.

    Like

Leave a Reply

