Spring cleaning

I have started spring-cleaning in anticipation of down-sizing , and one of the things I tossed out were my lawyer’s robes. This was a big step for me — I’ve been a lawyer for thirty years. But I haven’t worn them since 1992: I don’t even know if they still fit. For the last decade or so, I’ve hung them from trees at Hallowe’en with a scary mask and scared the bejesus out of little kids. (Lawyers are scary, children. Yes they are.)

Me and Jade in 1988. Still have the chair.

Disposing of my robes is the symbolic end to a career I’ve been edging away from for years. I am a realtor for the moment, perhaps for the rest of my adult life. Am I a mystery author now? I guess the fact of a publishing contract puts me there, but I won’t really believe it until I see the books. And the sales.

In my weekend ‘urge to purge,’ I also started tossing out law texts that I’ve been hauling around with me since I was a first year law student back in 1977.

The Current Law of Contracts was published over thirty years ago. Whatever’s in that book is no longer current.

I tossed out autobiographies of judges and lawyers who have long since died; binders with courses I took in the 1980s on preliminary motions in criminal trials, prerogative writs, bail applications. A decades worth of antiquated, annotated Criminal Codes from the 1980s, when it was still possible to read the Canadian Criminal Code in one sitting and find cases in it without a search engine. When I started practising law, there were no computers, no cellphones, no voice-mail, no emails. We had secretaries who answered our phones. They did our typing on old, manual typewriters with carbon paper. White-out was the big innovation.

Going through my little library and putting things in a pile reminded me of how eclectic my interests have been over the decades. Criminal law, Aboriginal law, fisheries law, water law, negotiations, health law, intellectual property, even NAFTA and charitable work. A constant evolution as curiousity drove me to new experiences. What’s next? I wonder, as I add to the pile. Selling this house is my first step, but what’s ahead is uncertain.

I have a good friend from Whitehorse who took six months from work to go on a ‘Weed, Pray, Love’ kind of journey, working on organic farms around the world while she learned more about meditation and yoga. That’s not my thing, but I certainly admire her courage. For me, the bravest thing I’ve done recently was to put those robes in a big black garbage bag, and set it out on the curb.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring cleaning

  1. tavia. says:

    So, are you quitting work and writing full time or are you just out-with-the-olding? The purging feels good. Like there’s nowhere to go but forward.

    Like

    • Peggy Blair says:

      I work as a realtor now; haven’t done legal work for years. I was doing First Nation negotiations here until a year or two ago when things collapsed. So this is ‘out with the old-ing’ for sure. As for full-time writing, depends on book sales. Certainly can’t afford to retire. For me, it’s Freedom Eight-Five, most likely!

      Like

  2. Other Lisa says:

    It’s weird to get to an age where it’s like, “Whoah. Major life transition. How did THAT happen?”

    The best of luck with yours! Sounds like you are continuing in fine, eclectic fashion!

    Like

    • Peggy Blair says:

      Thanks! I have a friend who says I’m the one person he knows who is actually living my Bucket List :-). Although my world-travelling yoga friend is certainly trail-blazing her way down her list, too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

