@peggyblair no longer exists.

Yes, I did it. I deactivated my Twitter account. I appreciated the thoughtful comments made by posters to my previous posts about Twitter, and considered it carefully, but at the end of the day, the white noise was more than I wanted to handle. I don’t have time for this one.

Maybe they’re right and as a debut author, I should spend time on Twitter, following strangers, hoping they’ll follow me too.

But at the end of the day, I don’t think Twitter sells books. I think books sell books. The same way that Larsson’s books sold, and The King’s Speech attracted attention. Plain old word of mouth, based on great stories and interesting characters.

You won’t be able to follow me on Twitter any longer if you were. But you can follow me here. Or be part of the dialogue on Absolute Write. And I am, of course, addicted to Facebook. Thanks for the input. Tweeting out….

This entry was posted in Social Media and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to @peggyblair no longer exists.

  1. Hi Peggy, I know how you’ve agonised over this decision! As someone who’s never gone down the Twitter road, I couldn’t really weigh in on the discussion. But it sounds as if you’ve made the right decision for you.
    I’ll still be keeping up with your news here, as I’m sure will many others!
    ~Charlotte

    Like

    • Peggy Blair says:

      Thanks, Charlotte! You never know, I may go back someday. But I have so many different sites and blogs to keep on top of between writing and real estate; it felt like too much to have yet another site to have to keep up with. But I don’t think Twitter will notice I’m gone …. :-).

      Like

Leave a Reply

