Steam and Ink

The greatest thing about writing, I think, is the writing community and the friends I’ve met through it. Charlotte  Jane Ivory is a writer of historical mysteries, gothic thrillers, and Victorianoir. (Gotta love that. First Noir, then Scottish Noir. Then my own invention, Cuban Noir, which another author, Hilary Jane MacLeod, suggested should be the name of a cigar. And now, Charlotte’s own brand of Victorianoir.)

Charlotte has a blog for genteel readers, Steam & Ink, that I adore for its intelligence, humour and wit (it’s on my blogroll) She’s represented by the terrific Donald Maass Literary Agency which represents New York Times best-selling author, Anne Perry, among others.

You’ve heard (read) me in the past raving about Don Maass and his  book, Writing the Breakout Novel. Charlotte is  represented by Cameron McClure in that agency. I think the tone in an agency is set by the person who created it, and I’m happy she’s in such good hands. I’m sure she’s headed for the bestseller list.

Charlotte’s current projects include a Victorian London murder mystery and others that you can read about on Charlotte’s blog. 

This entry was posted in Dealing with rejection, Don't Give Up, Other blogs to keep an eye on and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Steam and Ink

  1. Hearing the story of your long and tenacious journey to publication makes me feel that my take on synopses and submissions may seem a bit facile. My experience was almost the exact opposite of yours. The second agent I sent to showed immediate interest, and the first publisher did too. But I did go the exact same contest route as you did, except I never made a shortlist of any kind. And I had to wait 14 months for a final decision on my manuscript. So — even though I’d had positive feedback, I wasn’t going anywhere. Except getting older. I’m a junior senior, and I don ‘t have fourteen months to spare.

    It’s a hard business that way, and I’m glad things are sparking for you now — otherwise it would be another long journey until you hold that book in your hands.

    Congratulations on your incredible persistence and for standing solidly in the path of Lady Luck! I look forward to holding “The Beggars’ Opera” in my hands too.

    And thanks for the twitter stuff. I’m buzzing with the info more than tweeting, but maybe I’ll make some sense of it.
    Hilary

    Like

    • Peggy Blair says:

      Good for you! You must have had a great book or incredible good luck. The market dynamics have shifted in the past year, as well: it’s harder now than it was in 2009 and harder in 2009 than it as in 2008. But that delay must have been very frustrating …

      Like

  2. Thanks for the mention, Peggy! It was my pleasure to be able to write about your success on my blog, because I think it’s that kind of encouragement, which keeps us writers all going 🙂
    I look forward to following your progress, and holding a copy of The Beggar’s Opera sometime soon!
    ~Charlotte

    Like

Leave a Reply

