Updates on the Debut Dagger Shortlist for 2010

Very pleased to hear that Danielle Ramsay’s book, Broken Silence, is out. Danielle was shortlisted along with me and ten others for the 2010 Debut Dagger Awards, but I wasn’t aware that she had been shortlisted in 2009 as well.  (Broken Silence was her 2009 entry.)

Danielle is represented by Jenny Brown, who was Ian Rankin’s agent for around twenty years.  I met both of them in Harrogate and they are both lovely. (Actually, I met all three: Ian Rankin was also at Harrogate for the Theakstons Old Peculier crime writing festival and I have nothing to say about him but superlatives. Wonderful, generous and extremely kind.) Well done, Danielle and way to go, Jenny, for selling her book as well!

The other shortlisted candidates from 2010 referred to in this update from the CWA aren’t named, so I don’t know who else to congratulate. However, the good news is that the 2011 Debut Dagger is once again underway.

I strongly encourage you, if you have a strong 3,000 word opening and synopsis, to send it in. You can send in more than one entry, if you like, as long as you’re willing to pay for each submission. I sent in mine twice after extensive revisions persuaded me that the first one was weaker than the new version; it was the second entry that was shortlisted.

(Which eventually resulted in my getting an agent and a book deal, so well worth the effort.)

Details at http://www.thecwa.co.uk/daggers/debut/  Good luck!

This entry was posted in The Debut Dagger, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Updates on the Debut Dagger Shortlist for 2010

    • Peggy Blair says:

      Interesting. You always think that the winner of the Debut Dagger is going to get snapped up. Then again, the competition only involves the first 3,000 words so I can imagine that there are manuscripts where the story may need revising. These days, publishing houses (as I’ve learned) don’t want to put much money into editing.

      Like

  1. Simon says:

    It’s bizarre to me that they don’t want to spend money on things like that. I mean it isn’t that expensive/i>. If you’re producing something to sell, why wouldn’t you try and make it as perfect as you can?

    Like

Leave a Reply

