Is it really about who you know?

Let’s see: more than 100 rejections (I’m sure I have long surpassed Louise Penny, who likes to claim that particular honour). A shortlisted entry for the Debut Dagger but no win.  A long trip to the UK where the two agents that were supposed to meet me disappointed (one didn’t show, and the other managed to consistently avoid my eyes like a waiter in a snooty French restaurant).

And now it looks like the breakthrough may come as a result of my discussions with The Success Story (TSS)  in Harrogate. At the bar. An hour before I left the festival to start packing.

As you know from my last post, thanks to the referral made by TSS, The Publisher has my manuscript. The Publisher also recommended I consider contacting a very prominent agent in the UK for representation. I emailed that agent last night.

I had an email in my basket this morning. The Prominent Agent  said he’d be foolish to ignore such high level recommendations and would be happy to read my manuscript as soon as he has time.

No query letter, no synopsis.

Needless to say, I’m thrilled (make that really freaking thrilled) but it makes me wonder: after all of this effort, does it all come down to who you know?

This entry was posted in Getting Published, The Author-Agent Relationship, The Importance of Networking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is it really about who you know?

  1. aloysa says:

    It is exciting news! Good Luck!
    I just hope it doesn’t come down to who you know. What about those authors who didn’t know anyone and still got published? i.e. J.K.Rowling? I am hoping to be the one who didn’t know anyone. 🙂

    Like

  2. peggyblair says:

    Thanks. But thinking back, my first offer came from someone I met via a Facebook friend and had exchanged several posts and emails with about other subjects (it took me some time to get up enough courage to ask her if she’d read the manuscript).

    My second offer came from someone at an agency that I was referred to by the friend of a friend (i.e. a stranger who knew someone I knew who relayed my saga).

    My third offer came from an agent I met in Harrogate, UK, the night the Debut Dagger was awarded. And my fourth (the one I accepted) was due to a referral from a publisher who had been referred to me by a prominent author.

    But it does speak to the need to network in the search process, doesn’t it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

